The wanderlust photographer

It’s true that travelling helps you to enhance your skill as a photographer because

“Travel becomes a strategy for accumulating photographs.”

I remember watching this video on YouTube about a photographer who traveled across the United States.  After his journey he went back home and asked a friend to help him choose photos for a coffee table book.  They finished compiling everything in an hour.

Every time I look at travel photography sites and travelogs I just can’t help but feel envious.  I’d look at the beautiful photos and imagine how it would feel to be the one pressing the shutter button to capture it.

That’s why I travel as much as I can.  Although I haven’t traveled out of the country that frequently but in my country, I have.

Pink sky

The Philippines is an archipelago with 7,107 islands.  From the northern part of the country the farthest I’ve been was Baguio City and down south is Isabela City of the Basilan Island.  Our country has three main geographical divisions: Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.  And I have lived for quite some time in all three different regions.

Isabela City

My desire to travel the world actually moved me to get a map and mark the countries I’d like to visit someday.

First on my list is Japan.  The beautiful shrines, colorful kimonos, busy streets, unique festivals, delicious sushi, pink cherry blossoms and the list just wouldn’t end!  Actually, yesterday a friend just sent me an email about going to Japan with him just in time for spring when the cherry blossoms would bloom.  But my bank account just says “Sorry! You have insufficient funds right now. Please try again later.”

Next in my list is India.  If you search about Festival of Colors (Holi) and Festival of Lights (Diwali), that would explain everything why I want to go there.  If I was already fascinated going around Little India in Singapore, how much more if I was in Big India?

Little India

After India is Canada.  I can only imagine the beautiful lakes, giant trees and mountains covered in snow.  It would be nice to live in a cottage in autumn and just take pictures of the red and golden leaves that surround you.

Next is Brazil.  People dancing in samba, endless parade, colorful confetti and the exquisite costumes – yes, it’s Carnaval!  And if I start saving now I’d have enough money to go there for the 2016 Olympics in Rio.

Next would be Italy.  Besides the mouthwatering pizza, spaghetti and gelato it would be a photographer’s dream to travel across Italy.

Next is France.  Who doesn’t want to go to Paris?

The list just doesn’t end there.  I also want to go to America, Thailand, Australia, Germany, Peru, Russia, Palau, China, Tibet, Cape Verde, South Korea, Ecuador and so many others.  I know I may not be able to visit all of these places in this lifetime, but who knows?

I just might.

4 responses to “The wanderlust photographer

  1. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too wonderful. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise.
    I can not wait to read much more from you.
    This is actually a wonderful website.

  2. Hi there I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here
    now and would just like to say many thanks for
    a incredible post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  3. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

